Short Film: True Songs

True Songs ASFF

My short film ‘True Songs’ has made the official selection of Aethetica Magazine’s Short Film Festival 2016.

I’m so excited to go up to York for a weekend of films, and hear my Nonna’s voice in a cinema!

The film is an abstract series of changing focus shots of a shelf in my grandparents’ old house, with a soundtrack of stories being recounted by my Nonna. The title is a little nod to The Seafarer poem, with its first line, as rendered by so many translations. I love the cadences in my Nonna’s voice. I love the way her language slips into Italian sometimes. I love how unfazed she was by an audio recorder, she spoke with such honesty and openness. I made the film during a tough period for her, and for my family, so it’s nice to be able to share her stories now.

Screen Shot 2016-08-27 at 12.24.05.png
The first lines of The Seafarer poem, as translated by Ezra Pound, Nora Kershaw, Kevin Crossley-Holland, Amy Kate Riach, Craig Williamson, and Caroline Bergvall. Collage detail from the Gift for the Illuminated Sphere.

 

Leave a Reply

