Gleawe men sceolon gieddum wrixlan

Wise people should exchange words/ speech/ sayings/ poems/ songs/ riddles

Hello! I’m interested in early medieval poetry, objects, places, and events, and how they are made present in contemporary arts and cultural practices. Amazingly, the London Arts and Humanities Partnership (LAHP/ AHRC) are funding me to think about these things at King’s College London.

This is where I collect questions, musings, links, and other things usually related to medieval and Old English language and culture and their modern echoes, counterparts, imaginings, and (re)presentations. I use this site to blog, but also to bookmark useful things, so it’s something of a notebook.

Please comment and share your own thoughts or useful links! Or send me links/ say hello via twitter, @francheskyia.

*

What you’ll find here…

fran avatar
Blog – jottings on a range of things that I’m researching right now and projects I’m involved with.

Now researching…

The chapter I’m currently working on is all about poems and performance at Sutton Hoo, including Beowulf, and the Rune Poem. As a side interest, I do a lot of thinking about The Seafarer.

Links – here I save other people’s videos, writing, and more, that I’ve found useful for thinking about the medieval as it exists today.

Digital Medieval Texts – manuscript scans, or basic text-based Old English/ translations.

Not writing – here I store all the ‘not writing’ elements of projects I’ve been lucky enough to take part in… all of the visual, audio, multimedia stuff I’ve generated alongside this PhD!

*

I also sometimes make a radio show called ‘Footnotes’ on KCL Radio with another medievalist. Our modest aim is to talk to interesting PhD researchers about the interesting things they dig up in their work. Have a listen, or get in touch if you’d like to be a guest!

Leave a Reply

